Thailand

Up and away…

So as you know…if you read my last post, I went on a mission trip to Thailand.  My daughter went along with 5 others.  A group of 9 other people met us there.  Our mission-to go and teach vacation bible school to children!  It didn’t take long for me to decide I wanted to go on this trip…I love children, and VBS but most of all I love Jesus!  I love telling others about Him!  I was the VBS director at my church at the time.  Their VBS was to be at the same time I would be in Thailand!  Needless to say, I struggled to get everything in place and ready to go.  I accomplished the task, illnesses and all!

gate1   plane1

We packed up two cars and headed up to Chicago.  We stayed over night and headed to the Airport the next morning.  We knew that the flight from Chicago to Seoul, Korea would be long.  We had a layover there and then on to Thailand.  From Chicago to Seoul, Korea was 13 hours 40 minutes.  We had a 3 hour layover at Incheon airport.  We painted at the Cultural Center.  Then the flight from Incheon to Thailand was 5 hours 30 minutes.  (Total flight miles 17,294 mi)

painting tools   painting

We arrived to a wonderful family who picked us up and greeted us with roses!  We drove a while to get to the hotel.  The hotel was very nice!  Everyone was so friendly-greeting us with their hands together and bowing saying, “Sah-wah-dee kha!”  Our room key not only unlocked our door, but it also turned on our lights and air conditioning.  The hotel staff was amazing!


IMG_5567In the evening we walked down to the market, some call it the “Night Bizarre” to eat and shop.  Everything was reasonably priced.  Most of the people made things by hand!  They would set up in the early afternoon and sit there until well after midnight trying to sell their hand made items.  Some would be working on stuff while we shopped.  If you purchased something from their table and you were their first customer, they would take the baht (bill) and rub it all over their table for good luck!  We began building relationships by going to the same people each night.  One lady told my daughter she worked and made the items to sell to help pay for her daughter to go to school and have a school uniform.  She was the same age as my daughter.  This is their way of life.  I don’t think I have ever witnessed anyone that worked so hard for so little in return in America!  We are so privileged and take things for granted!  I left wishing I could stay one more week to witness to these wonderful people!

After we were done with our work, we went on a Safari!  This is like a zoo here in America but you rode a tram in total darkness.  We would stop to see the animals and they would shine a spotlight on them.  They would walk right up to the tram and stick their heads in trying to get food.  They sold small cups with carrots and things to feed them with.  It was so wonderful to see the animals run free!

 
Thai people are so friendly….happy…. caring!  They are beautiful people.  Always smiling!  I didn’t want to leave because I fell in love with the people!  More missionaries are needed to tell them about Jesus! They’re mostly Buddhist.  I want them to know that God sent himself in human form through a virgin birth.  He lived a sinless life, walking among us!  He loved us so much that He died a horrible death on a cross for our sins, the sins of the world!  He rose from the grave and His word (the bible) tells us He is coming back!  If we believe and follow Him we will spend eternity with Him in heaven.

Today, seeing is believing to most people.  With God, having faith is believing without seeing. The Bible says: “For we walk by faith, not by sight.”  2 Corinthians 5:7 ESV

I’m not sure what I expected.  I came home with a profound respect for the Thai people and their hard work.  Even with getting sick and having a migraine almost the entire time, I am still glad I had the privilege to go on this journey with God!  Trying their food was an adventure.  The smell at the market is indescribable!  The temperature was extremely hot and humid!  I told my family, if I ever complain about America being hot and humid in the summer time, just say “Thailand”!  Would I go back? Yes, I would!

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here and I, Send me!” Isaiah 6:8 

Leave a Reply

