Love

What is love?

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always preserves.  Love never fails. 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

Have you ever been the giver of this kind of love before?  Have you ever been on the receiving end of this kind of love?  Today, love can mean many different things depending on who you are talking to.  I believe we have overused the word to the point it has lost its meaning.

I am guilty of this myself…I love pizza, I love the color pink, I love reading books, I love sweet tea.  You get what I’m trying to say.  When I tell my husband and my kids I love them, do I truly mean it?  We are so used to using that word that there are times I actually stop and think about the things I love about my husband and kids!

I never knew how much God loved me until I accepted Him as Lord of my life.  Once I realized He died on the cross for my sins, I knew just what He saved me from!  I was wild and crazy at times on a road to self destruction.  I didn’t accept Him until I was 23 years old with a toddler and a 4 mo old.

I fell away from church shortly after and wandered in the wilderness for 6 long years.  One evening I felt God’s conviction.  He spoke to me and told me our children needed to be raised in the church.  I called my pastor (father-in-law) and talked to him.  I knew what I needed to do.  So, the next day I got up and went back to church, family in tow!  It was November 14, 2004.

I couldn’t figure out why I felt guilty of my past sins.  One night in a women’s bible study, God spoke to me. God had forgiven me, my husband had forgiven me but I hadn’t forgiven myself.  So, once I forgave myself I began to live for Christ!  I was finally making peace with my past.  I rededicated my life to Him and I wanted to share it with everyone who would listen!

Since 2004, I’ve made it my mission to tell the world what Jesus saved me from!  The greatest gift that’s been given to us is God coming to earth in human form, drying on a cross for our sins!  Some think you have to get your act together before God will accept you.  He meets us right where we’re at.  It’s nothing we can ever do!  The debt has already been paid!  The bible says God demonstrated His love for us; that while we were sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8.  If it wasn’t for the sin in the world, Jesus’ death wouldn’t have been necessary.  God knew we couldn’t save ourselves!  He made a way to the Father: through Jesus!!

The word “Love” is written in the bible 686 times.  God shows us Agape love!  An unselfish love to all mankind.  We don’t deserve this kind of love!  We are not worthy but it’s a free gift given to us.  All you have to do is accept God’s free gift!

Accepting Christ and following Him was the best decision I ever made!  It doesn’t mean life will be easy, it makes it possible.  It doesn’t mean we will never sin again and be sinless.  It means we will sin less.  I still have to ask for forgiveness because I fail Him daily!  The greatest peace is knowing where I will spend eternity!

So this Valentine’s Day I looked at the meaning of love in a different way.  I saw God’s love, Agape love!  I am going to love like Christ! Do everything in love.  1 Corinthians 16:14 

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.  John 3:16-17

Leave a Reply

