My Journey

It has been a long 4 months…to the day.

If you read my ‘Rollercoaster’ post you will know that I have been on a journey of ups and downs with my health.

I had my second needle biopsy of my thyroid nodule last Thursday, February 12th.  I woke up on Friday morning with a temperature.  I called my doctors nurse and she schedules me an appointment with him.  I go and see him and he tells me he can’t treat me for this, it’s not his expertise.  He called the hospital where I had the biopsy and they want to see me and make sure I didn’t get a hematoma.  So, I drive an hour for them to take a look.  Nothing.  Can’t explain why I’m running a fever.  I was ordered to rest, so I did, well, sort of!

Today marks 4 months I found out I have a nodule on my thyroid.  Between 3 doctors, a CT scan, blood work, and 2 needle biopsies, I finally received the call yesterday about my results.  It’s benign.  Wow!  Praise God!  I should be throwing a party, right?!  I’m feeling confused!  I make a few calls and text some family and friends before I post my good news on Facebook.  God had prepared me for cancer.  I was sure of it.  I am pretty good at discerning the voice of God.  I email my pastor and text another pastor who’s been praying for me.

Later yesterday afternoon I received an email back from my pastor.  He told me I needed to rejoice in the good news: first for God protecting me from cancer and also to thank Him for preparing me for it.  That helped!  Then I receive a text back from my friend who’s a pastor and he says, “Awesome news!”  “I’m happy for you!”  So I explain to him how I am feeling.  He sends me a text telling me God gave him a passage to share with me and to read 2 Kings 20:1-6.

I read it.  It’s about Hezekiah being a servant of the Lord but ends up with an illness.  Isaiah, who was a prophet, tells him that he is going to die.  Hezekiah prayed to God saying, remember how I have walked before you faithfully and with wholehearted devotion and done what was good in your eyes? He bitterly wept.  God goes to Isaiah and tells him to go tell Hezekiah He has heard his prayer and seen his tears and He would heal him.  Hezekiah does what Isaiah instructs him to do and was healed by God!

I understood why he would lead me to read this passage!  I text him back telling him that by reading this passage, it helped!  He said, “maybe God said what you thought but then answered the many prayers on your behalf!”  Unbelievable!  Here I was doubting my discernment when God told me it was cancer, preparing me.  I needed to have more faith that He did tell me that but He healed me!

I know that prayer and faith can change any situation and outcome.  I am living proof of that!  The smallest thing can cause a stumbling block.  I need to keep my eyes on Jesus!

Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith! Hebrews 12:2 

Leave a Reply

