We are commanded to GO…

into all the world and preach the Good News to all creation. Mark 15:16

Being a Christ follower, we are commanded by Jesus himself to GO!  It may be overseas or in another state.  He may be telling you to share the Good News right where you live and work.  Missions is for everyone.  You can serve by praying, volunteering your time or monetary gifts.   I had a preconceived notion what a missionary was.  (I thought a missionary was someone who went to live overseas.)  We can all be missionaries right where we live and work.

I have shared Jesus with homeless people across the globe as well as in my home town.  I have shared Jesus with my doctors, dentist, nurses, and people at the park while my kids played.  It comes up in conversation. Most of the time I don’t even have to initiate it, they do! I love telling others about the joy and hope I have.  I know what Jesus saved me from and I am grateful!

God has called me to GO!  This summer, I have the privilege to go on mission to Africa with African Vision of Hope!  This will be my first trip to Africa and to such a poverty stricken continent.  It will be very different from any mission trip I have been on.  I pray God will prepare me for what I will see!  (My heart breaks for what breaks His!) My team will work alongside pastors and seminary students helping with a medical clinic as well as Aids Awareness and directly working with the children.  We will visit three schools while we are there as well as an orphanage.  We will be busy the entire time.  I will be cut off from the world-no internet, cell phone or interaction with family and friends.  Some are telling me not to go.  I understand their concerns but God will protect us.  If I died a martyr’s death, that’s the least I could do for Christ-who died on the cross for me!

If you’ve been on mission you know that it’s life changing.  You want everyone to experience it!  I know the Lord will be with us!  The bible says the Lord goes before us and He will be with us. Deuteronomy 31:8. Every trip I have been on there’s been some risk or threat.  When we went to London in 2012, we had terrorist threats during the Olympic Games.  Last summer I went to Thailand, they were under Martial Law.  I know that there are dangers everywhere.  God will protect us, once again!  I put my complete faith and trust in Him!  He’s always with me!

“Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”  How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in?  And how can they believe in the one whom they have not heard?  And how can they hear without someone preaching to them?  And how can they preach unless they are sent?  As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” Romans 10:13-15

If we do not go and tell them, how will they ever hear about the Good News?  Faith comes from hearing the message and the message is heard through the Word of Christ.  Romans 10:17

God doesn’t call the equipped, he equips the called!

Leave a Reply

